Williams Named College of Agriculture Associate Dean for Instruction

AUBURN, Ala. — J. David (Dave) Williams, an Auburn University horticulture alumnus, a Department of Horticulture faculty member since 1991 and horticulture department head for the past year and a half, has been named interim associate dean for instruction for the College of Agriculture.

In his new position, which he assumed Nov. 1, Williams will work with faculty to evaluate academic programs and identify instruction needs in the college and will interact with and be available to College of Agriculture students, from recruitment to graduation.

Williams earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in horticulture from Auburn in 1980 and 1985, respectively, and worked for several years as an Alabama Cooperative Extension System horticulture specialist in Auburn. In 1991, he received his Ph.D. in horticulture from The Ohio State University and then returned to AU to join the horticulture faculty.

Before assuming department head duties in February 2006, Williams divided his time between teaching and advising graduate and undergraduate horticulture students and serving as a statewide landscape horticulture specialist for Extension.

Williams fills the associate dean for instruction position left vacant in August when Bill Hardy, who had held the post for seven years, resigned to return full time to the Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology faculty.

Williams’ interim appointment is for two years, at which time a national search for a permanent associate dean for instruction will be conducted. The search will be open to internal and external candidates.


For immediate release

Office of Ag Communications & Marketing
Auburn University College of Agriculture
Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station
3 Comer Hall, Auburn University
Auburn, AL 36849

Contact:  Jamie Creamer, 334-844-2783 or jcreamer@auburn.edu

College of Agriculture | Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | ☎ (334) 844-2345 |
Webpage Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©